The other day I tweeted this:

The tweet consists of a link to a piece by ANU Professor Peter Whiteford, along with a quote from the piece. The quote refers to Professor Whiteford’s finding that the policy changes in the recent budget will cause a larger reduction in the disposable incomes of households who receive benefits than any other type of household.

Today, The Australian chose to use my  tweet in its Cut and Paste column. Here’s a screenshot:

Capture

 

Do you see the difference between what I tweeted and what The Australian said I tweeted? My tweet contains quotation marks – it is a direct quote from Professor Whiteford. The tweet as reproduced in the newspaper doesn’t contain quotation marks – it appears as if those words are mine, rather than Whiteford’s.

For the benefit of the anonymous person who writes the Cut and Paste column, quotation marks are used to signal that the words are not those of the author, but are a direct quote from some other person.

